Faculty



Faculty Directory

AB C DEF G H I J KLM N O P Q R S T U V W X YZ
A
Perry Alexander
Director of the Institute for Information Sciences, AT&T Foundation Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
 Primary: 785-864-7741
 Perry Alexander's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 208

Primary Research Interests

My research interests include formal methods, system-level design, trusted computing, design and specification language semantics, and component retrieval. For more information, visit my research or the SLDG pages.

Mohammad Alian
Assistant Professor, EECS
 alian@ku.edu
 Mohammad Alian's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 253

Primary Research Interests

Computer Architecture and Systems: performance, simulation

Operating Systems and Networking: datacenter networking, I/O subsystem

Christopher Allen
Professor, EECS
 callen@ku.edu
 785-864-8801
 Christopher Allen's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 153

Primary Research Interests

Microwave remote sensing, radar systems, and photonics/lightwave technologies. 

Back to top
B
Alexandru Bardas
Assistant Professor, EECS
 alexbardas@ku.edu
 785-864-4421
 Alexandru Alex Bardas's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 238

Primary Research Interests

Cybersecurity from a systems perspective, Moving target defenses, Enterprise network security, Bringing social sciences into cybersecurity

Shannon Blunt
Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor, EECS, Director | Radar Systems Laboratory (RSL)
 sdblunt@ku.edu
 785-864-7326
 Shannon Blunt's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 357

Primary Research Interests

Signal processing for radar and communication systems, space-time adaptive processing (STAP), adaptive pulse compression, adaptive signal processing, statistical signal processing, estimation & detection theory, wavelets, optimization theory, system identification, multiuser detection, and biomedical imaging.

Michael Barnicky
Professor, EECS
 msb@ku.edu
 785-864-2977
 Michael Branicky's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 358

Primary Research Interests

Cyber-Physical Systems, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Robotics, Internet of Things

Back to top
D
Drew Davidson
Assistant Professor, EECS
 drewdavidson@ku.edu
 913-321-3143
 Drew Davidson's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 237
Tyrone Duncan
Professor, Mathematics
 duncan@math.ku.edu
 785-864-7349
 Tyrone Duncan's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 353

Primary Research Interests

Explicitly solvable stochastic control problems, Stochastic control of distributed parameter systems, Stochastic adaptive control of linear and nonlinear systems, Mathematics of finance and stochastic modeling, Mathematics and telecommunication, Math education.

Back to top
E
Esam El-Araby
Associate Professor, EECS
 esam@ku.edu
 785-864-3137
 Esam El-Araby's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 134

Primary Research Interests

Computer Architecture

High-Performance Heterogeneous and Reconfigurable Computing

Biologically-Inspired and Neuromorphic Architectures

Evolvable Hardware

Hardware Acceleration

Embedded Systems

Performance Evaluation and Modeling

Applications of HPC to Digital Signal/Image Processing and Remote Sensing

Back to top
F
Huazhen Fang
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
 fang@ku.edu
 785-864-8126
 Huazhen Fang's Website
 Learned Hall Room 3134

Primary Research Interests

Control Systems, Energy Management, Environmental Monitoring, Mechatronics

Shima Fardad
Assistant Professor, EECS
 sfardad@ku.edu
 785-864-7756
 Shima Fardad's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 239

Primary Research Interests

  • Light-matter interactions in soft-matter systsems
  • Nanophotonics, Plasmonics and Metamaterials Imaging
  • Microscopy and Spectroscopy Techniques
Victor Frost
Dan F. Servey Distinguished Professor, EECS
 frost@eecs.ku.edu
 785-864-1028
 Victor Frost's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 254

Primary Research Interests

Communication Systems and Networks, Networking Simulation and Modeling, Wireless Systems, Internet Performance Analysis.

Back to top
H
Morteza Hashemi
Assistant Professor, EECS
 mhashemi@ku.edu
 Morteza Hashemi's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 354
Tamzidul Hoque
Assistant Professor, EECS
 hoque@ku.edu
 Tamzidul Hoque's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 137
Rongqing Hui
Professor, EECS, Director | Center for Communications, Materials and Photonics (CCMP)
 hui@eecs.ku.edu
 785-864-7740
 Rongqing Hui's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 222

Primary Research Interests

Fiber-optic communications, photonic devices, optical sensors

Back to top
K
Taejoon Kim
Assistant Professor, EECS
 taejoonkim@ku.edu
 785-864-3122
 Taejoon Kim's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 137
Prasad Kulkarni
Professor, EECS, CSDL Lab Director
 prasadk@ku.edu
 785-864-7322
 Prasad Kulkarni's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 136

Primary Research Interests

Static and dynamic/adaptive compilers

Computer architecture

Embedded systems

Back to top
L
Fengjun Li
Associate Professor, EECS
 fli@ku.edu
 785-864-7707
 Fengjun Li's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 235

Primary Research Interests

Information security, privacy; electronic health, healthcare informatics; smart grids and network security; and applied cryptography

Jennifer Lohoefener
Assistant Research Professor, EECS, Associate Director, I2S
 jlohoefener@ku.edu
 785-864-0140
 Jennifer Lohoefener's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 252
Bo Luo
Professor, EECS, Director | HASSC Lab
 bluo@ku.edu
 785-864-7749
 Bo Luo's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 341

Primary Research Interests

My current research interests lie in the intersection of security and privacy and data science. In particular, I'm interested in:
          •   Information and system security
          •   IoT/CPS and hardware-enabled security
          •   Privacy, online social networks

Back to top
M
Brian McClendon

Primary Research Interests

machine learning; computer vision; autonomous vehicles; world-scale mapping
Patrick McCormick
Assistant Professor, EECS, Assistant Scientist
 pmccormick@ku.edu
 Patrick McCormick's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 357
Gary Minden
Professor Emeritus, EECS
 gminden@ku.edu
 Gary Minden's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 155

Primary Research Interests

Digital Systems, Microprocessors, Embedded Systems

Matt Moore
Assistant Professor, EECS
 matthew.moore@ku.edu
 785-864-7764
 Matt Moore's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 135

Primary Research Interests

  • Foundational Computer Science
  • The Constraint Satisfaction Problem
  • Universal Algebra
  • Complexity Theory
Back to top
P
John Paden
Research Assistant Professor, CReSIS
 paden@ku.edu
 785-864-1692
 John Paden's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 325

Primary Research Interests

My research focuses on HF to Ka-band signal/data processing and radar system engineering for remote sensing of terrestrial snow and ice (non-atmospheric). Direction of arrival estimation applied to synthetic aperture radar (SAR tomography), differential interferometric SAR (DINSAR), machine learning and image processing applied to radar imaging are my current areas of interest in this field.

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan
Professor, Mathematics
 bozenna@ku.edu
 785-864-7349
 Bozenna Pasik-Duncan's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 353

Primary Research Interests

  • Probability
  • Statistics
  • Stochastic Control
Erik Perrins
Charles E. & Mary Jane Spahr Professor, Department Chair, EECS
 esp@ku.edu
 785-864-4486
 Erik Perrins's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 210
Adam Petz
Assistant Research Professor, EECS
 Adam Petz's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 134

Primary Research Interests

Software Correctness, Formal Methods, Functional Programming, Domain-Specific Languages, Programming Language Semantics, Program Synthesis, System-Level Security, Trusted Computing.

Back to top
S
Hossein Saiedian
Professor, EECS
 saiedian@ku.edu
 785-864-7765
 Hossein Saiedian's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 157

Primary Research Interests

Software architecture, formal modeling, secure software

engineering, information security

Alessandro Salandrino
Associate Professor, EECS
 a.salandrino@ku.edu
 785-864-4896
 Alessandro Salandrino's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 257

Primary Research Interests

My main research interests are in optics, photonics, and applied electromagnetics. My work has placed a particular emphasis on engineering the electromagnetic properties of nano-structured systems such as metamaterials and plasmonic devices.

Assistant Professor, EECS
 shomaji@ku.edu
 Sumaiya Shomaji's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 251
Suzanne Shontz
Professor, EECS, Director | Mathematical Methods & Interdisciplinary Computing Center (MMICC)
 shontz@ku.edu
 785-864-7254
 Suzanne Shontz's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 203

Primary Research Interests

Computational- and data-enabled science and engineering. More specifically, parallel scientific computing with a focus on unstructured mesh, numerical optimization, model order reduction, and numerical linear algebra methods and their applications to computational medicine, imaging sciences, electronic circuits, and materials.

Bill Staples
Professor, Sociology, Director | Surveillance Studies Research Center
 staples@ku.edu
 785-864-9414
 Bill Staples's Website

Primary Research Interests

Surveillance Studies, Social Control, Historical Sociology, Cultural Sociology
James Stiles
Professor, EECS
 jstiles@ku.edu
 785-864-4838
 James Stiles's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 153

Primary Research Interests

Radar remote sensing of vegetation

Propagation and scattering in random media

Ground-penetrating radar

Radar signal processing

Applications of information and estimation theory in remote sensing

Hongyang Sun
Assistant Professor, EECS
 hongyang.sun@ku.edu
 Hongyang Sun's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 204

Primary Research Interests

High-performance computing, cloud/edge computing, data science, scheduling, resilience, algorithms, optimizations, applied machine learning

John Symons
Professor, Philosophy, Director | Center for Cyber-Social Dynamics (CCSD)
 johnsymons@ku.edu
 785-864-1948
 John Symons's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 335
Back to top
W
Jamie Walters
Associate Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
 jwalters@ku.edu
 785-864-4776
 Jamie Walters's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 156
Emily Witt
Associate Professor, Keeler Intra-University Professor
 witt@ku.edu
 785-864-5149
 Emily Witt's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 255
Back to top
Y
Zijun Yao
Assistant Professor, EECS
 zyao@ku.edu
 Zijun Yao's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 236
Heechul Yun
Associate Professor, EECS
 heechul.yun@ku.edu
 785-864-7735
 Heechul Yun's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 236
Back to top
Z
Cuncong Zhong
Assistant Professor, EECS
 cczhong@ku.edu
 785-864-0739
 Cuncong Zhong's Website
 Nichols Hall Room 251
Back to top